Pls help – financial planning

POSTED BY LAKSHMAN PV ON October 10, 2012 4:50 pm ONE COMMENT

Recently only I have seen this site and thought of sharing my issues with you anticipating your valuable suggestions. I am 46 now working in a pvt firm.  I never given serious thought and importance of financial planning and I simply wasted my good time in investing in LIC’’s and other non-profitable plans and now realized my mistake and regretted. I know I am too late in asking this however still I hope if you could help me advice for changes/modification in my existing portfolio.

I am the only earning member of my family that having my wife 37 yrs and 2 daughters of 16 years and 12, father and mother.  My investments and loan details are furnished under. Could you kindly help me if I am on the right track or whether should I make some modification in the existing investment plans to achieve my goal?

i)Gross Income Rs 40000/- per month including HRA/TA
ii) Medical claims can be availed up to Rs 84000/- per annum presently from the company (Amt connected with basic pay)

Liability

i) Housing loan for Rs 5 lac from SBT for 15 years. Repayment started since  2005-06. EMI @ Rs 5600/-

ii) Loan for Rs 35,000/- on agriculture purpose @6% interest per year.  Repayment already started and Rs 10,000/- still balance to be paid.

Investments

A) PPF : Depositing @ Rs 2500/- per month. Present balance: Rs.2, 65,000/-. PPF A/c Opened during 11/ 2007

B) Beema Gold TREE – Gold purchase plan: @ Rs 4500/- (Average) since 7/2011-for 18 months.

C) L I C :

1. Wealth Plus. Sum assured: Rs 1 lac , Rs 5000/- per quarter, Started 2010(policy term : 5 (premium payment term :
2. Money back -20 yrs, Sum assrd : 1 lac , Rs 1692/-per quarter . Started 2001 – 2021
3. Marriage Endwmt/Edu annty plan. Sum assrd : Rs 25000/-, Rs 352/- per quarter. Started 1996-2014
4. Marriage Endwmt/Edu annty plan. Sum assrd : Rs 50000/-, Rs 862/- per quarter , strtd 2001 – 2016
5. New Bima Kiran, Sum assrd : 1 lac , Rs 886/- per half year, Started 2002 – 2022

6) Term Policy for 10 lac SBI Life Saral Shield Level Term @ Rs  8402/year

7) Personal Accident Insurance Scheme (United India Insurance CO @ SBT) Sum insured: Rs 5 lac. Debit  only Rs 100/-  per year from SB A/c towards premium..

D) Fixed Deposits

a)Rs 40,000/- @ 12% since 10/2011

b)Rs 25,000/- @ 12% since 11/2011

 

F) Bank RD @ 1000/- per month since Sep 2011

G) Shares just started but no confidence in continuing. Dhanalaxmi bank 25 shares + ONGS 20 shares

 

G) Mutual funds

a)      DSP BlackRock Top 100 Equity Fund – Regular  plan- Gr @ Rs 1000 pm since 7/2011

b)      ICICI  P1191 Focused Bluechip Equity Retail Gro @ Rs 3000/- pm since7/2011

c)       ICICI PDFG Discovery Growth @ Rs 1000/- pm since7/2011

d)      HDFC TOP 200 GROWTH @ Rs 1000/- pm since7/2011

e)      HDFC EQUITY FUND GROWTH @ Rs 1000/- pm since7/2011

f)       HDFC PRUDENCE  FUND GROWTH @ Rs 1000/- pm since7/2011

Existing value for all the above MF till dt is 1, 58,162/-

 

My Goals

 

a)      Education for my 1st daughter Rs 3 lac after 2 yrs and 13 lac (present value) for her marriage  after 7 years.

b)      Education for my 2nd daughter Rs 5 lac after 6 yrs and 15 lac (present value) for her marriage after 12 years.

c)       I wanted to buy a small car for 4 lac in two years but I am afraid whether I can do this or not especially with the big expenses ahead in the near future.

 

I will wait for your valuable suggestions and advices.

Thanks Lakshman

One reply on this article “Pls help – financial planning”

  1. Its too long question , please ask short questions so that people can reply in a better way . No one will read such a long question .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Download Our FREE Ebook!

Available only for first 100 people today

Download Our FREE Ebook!

Available only for first 100 people today