EPF Withdrawal

POSTED BY Srinidhi R ON May 14, 2012 12:14 pm COMMENTS (19)

Hi,
I have been working almost since 3 years now. I’ll be going for my higher studies this july. So either I’ve to close my account or keep it idle. So I wanted to get clarity on few things:

1) If I close my EPF account now, how much tax will I be taxed? Is it 30% flat? Or is the EPF corpus added to my annual income and taxed accordingly?

2) If its flat 30% doesn’t it mean that I am actually losing a big part of my money?

3) Can I keep my account idle till I complete my studies(2 years later) and then activate it when I get a job?

4) Is there any provision where in I can keep depositing a nominal amount (VPF style) every year just to keep my account active?

19 replies on this article “EPF Withdrawal”

1. Vasant says:

Hi Ashal

I left job in April 2015. I was working in this company for last 6 Years. My PF amount exceeds 2.5 L.So do my TDS will be deducted at source ?
    I heard from one of my friend that I will need to pay tax for whole amount as it is exceeding 2.5 L.(though I have completed 5 Years)

Please reply.

Best regards
    Vasant

1. Vasant says:

Hi Ashal

Eagerly waiting for your reply on this.

Best Regards
      Vasant

2. I HAVE COMPLETED IN MY COMPANY CONTINUOUS 7 YEARS AND MY PF AMOUNT ARE NEAR ABOUT RS 300000. IF I LEFT COMPANY FOR MY ILL HEALTH AND NOT CONTINUED SERVICES IN ANY COMPANY AND IF I WITHDRAWL THE PF AMOUNT I HAVE TO PAY TAX. I MEAN I SUBMIT MY TDS IN EVERY YEAR, BUT THE WITHDRAWL AMOUNT WILL BE TAXABLE AS IT IS EXCEED RS. 250000?

2. Sudha Raj says: